Certification (2018-2019)

Since 2002, the CRA credential has validated excellence in imaging management. Today, more than 1100 professionals hold the only credential for medical imaging administration. The Certified Radiology Administrator (CRA) credential was tailored specifically for medical imaging administrators. The examination focuses on five subject areas that are crucial to successful administration: human resource management, asset resource management, fiscal management, operations management, and communication and information management. The CRA program, including the examination, is managed by the Radiology Administration Certification Commission (RACC), a self-governing body created to maintain the credential’s integrity and relevance.

RACC Elections
In the most recent RACC annual elections held in October of 2018, Donna Morris, CRA and Kimberly Evans, CRA were elected to serve as commissioners with terms running from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2021. Eric DeBastiani was elected Public Commissioner and will serve his first term from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2021.

In January, the RACC elected officers for 2019. David Partridge, CRA, FAHRA is the 2019 RACC Chair; Cindy Winter, CRA, FAHRA is Vice Chair; and Curtis Bush, CRA, FAHRA is Secretary/Treasurer.

New CRAs
In 2018, 82 individuals successfully completed the examination and earned the CRA credential for an end of year total of 1,188 CRAs and CRA-Retired.

Kathyrn Keeler Memorial Scholarship
Kathryn Keeler was a beloved and valued member of the AHRA staff and was AHRA’s longest tenured employee, having joined the team in June 2001. In 2007, she became the CRA Coordinator and worked primarily with the RACC. Her dedication allowed the CRA to grow and continue add value to the profession of radiology management.

Kathryn lost her battle with cancer in 2018. The CRA Exam Scholarship currently provides opportunities for AHRA members who might not otherwise be able to afford the registration fees associated to take the CRA exam. The CRA Exam Scholarship has been renamed the Kathryn Keeler Memorial Scholarship to honor Kathryn’s commitment to AHRA and the CRA Program. The scholarship will cover exam fees and application fees (when applicable). The exam fees will be paid by the AHRA Education Foundation.

Up Next: A Message from the Education Foundation Chair